Welcome to our store!

New collections added on a weekly basis!


for all orders over $99.99 within CONUS

Paucis Verbis: Asthma classification

Michelle Lin, MD |

asthma classification MDI
Emergency physicians have the opportunity to educate patients and prescribe chronic inhaled corticosteroids to patients who should be on these medications chronically. Patients may be more receptive to education and advice given immediately after an asthma exacerbation, managed in the ED.  Using the National Institute of Health/ National Asthma Education and Prevention Program classification system, physicians can quickly determine if the patient is a candidate for inhaled corticosteroids and initiate therapy accordingly.

PV Card: Asthma Classification system

In short, patients can be classified into one of 4 classes: intermittent, mild persistent, moderate persistent, and severe persistent asthma. Patients in these classes should receive either Step 1, 2, 3, or 4/5 medications, respectively. I remember that patient using daily short-acting beta agonists (SABA) belong to the moderate persistent asthma category.

Go to ALiEM (PV) Cards for more resources.

Author information

Michelle Lin, MD

ALiEM Founder and CEO
Professor and Digital Innovation Lab Director
Department of Emergency Medicine
University of California, San Francisco

The post Paucis Verbis: Asthma classification appeared first on ALiEM.

Leave a comment

Please note: comments must be approved before they are published.